Step-back in time and stroll through the summer homes and gardens of Lake Tahoe’s early vacationers. Built between 1894 and 1921, the Tallac Historic Site preserves a unique era of Tahoe history in time for today’s visitors. The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1987 and offers a variety of public recreation activities. Explore the interpretative trails, mosey along the beach, take a guided tour or attend a special event, the Tallac Historic Site is where cultural and environmental stewardship meet!
THE TALLAC MUSEUM IS NOW CLOSED FOR THE WINTER.
The Tallac Historic Site is seasonally operated from May to October. While parking lots and buildings are closed during the winter months, visitors may still access the grounds for recreational activities. The site is popular destination for gentle cross-country skiing and snowshoeing.
Remember to pack out all trash during winter recreation, as garbage service will not resume until May!
USDA Forest Service Supervisor’s Office