Further Your Career Managing Natural Resources.


Managing Natural Resources Across the West

International Field Studies

Coastal Ecology of the Central Pacific

Galena Programs

Galena Creek Visitor Center and Programs

VISA Information

Visa requirements will vary depending on each ICVE members length of commitment. Please contact icve@thegreatbasininstitute.org for more information about obtaining the proper visa for participation.

J1 Exchange Visitor Visa. A J1 Exchange Visitor visa is required for all ICVE interns. ICVE is designated by the U.S. Department of State to administer a J-1 Student Exchange Visitor Program. All ICVE interns are sponsored through this program and must meet the following minimum requirements in order to be eligible for a placement. They must:

Study within, or closely related to, the discipline of environmental science;

Be currently enrolled in and pursuing studies at a foreign degree- or certificate-granting post-secondary academic institution outside the United States, or;

Have graduated from such an institution no more than 12 months prior to his or her exchange visitor program start date; and,

Possess a valid passport throughout any time spent in the United States.

B2 Tourist Visa. A B2 Tourist visa is recommended for ICVE volunteers participating in a session 12 weeks or longer, or plan on traveling within the United States before or after a volunteer session. Once accepted into the ICVE volunteer program, upon request, a letter of support may be provided by ICVE to aide in the visa application process. For more information on obtaining a B2 Tourist Visa please visit http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/types/types_1265.html.

Visa Waiver Program. The Visa Waiver Program is recommended for ICVE volunteers that will be in the United States for 90 days or less. Please visit http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/without/without_1990.html for more information about the Visa Waiver Program.

Currently, 36 countries participate in the Visa Waiver Program:

Andorra Hungary New Zealand
Australia Iceland Norway
Austria Ireland Portugal
Belgium Italy San Marino
Brunei Japan Singapore
Czech Republic Latvia Slovakia
Denmark Liechtenstein Slovenia
Estonia Lithuania South Korea
Finland Luxembourg Spain
France Malta Sweden
Germany Monaco Switzerland
Greece the Netherlands United Kingdom